View Full Version : Mailserver Problem
trysb
2003-07-28, 15:14 PM
Hello,
We have a PHP forum setup much like this one but we keep getting this error on monay e-mails it tries to send out.
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.
A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:
anything@hotmail.com
unrouteable mail domain "hotmail.com"
Does anyone know how to fix this?
Thanks
Brian
241comp
2003-07-28, 16:31 PM
Is this on a Windows box running MailEnable? I would assume that this is on an Ensim box (Linux) but thought I'd ask because I had the same error message on a W2K3 box w/ mailenable. If this is a Linux box with Ensim, do you have recursive DNS allowed for local lookups?
trysb
2003-07-28, 16:36 PM
It is a Lynx system and i dont know if it is running MailEnable how do i find out?
Brian
Check your "php.ini" file. Make sure that the "sendmail_from =" line under "Module Settings" reflects an e-mail address that actually exists on the local server. I was having a similiar issue with vBulletin until I changed that line.
241comp
2003-07-28, 16:38 PM
I assume you mean Linux - so, no you do not have MailEnable. Sorry I can't be of more help.
hoover
2003-08-15, 15:02 PM
I'm a new to SB, and I have the same issue:
All mail intended for hotmail, yahoo, or aol is being rejected. All other vanity domain names, etc is working fine. I'm assuming that this is all a result of a blacklist on SB IP space.
hoover
2003-08-18, 12:44 PM
Originally posted by trysb
Hello,
We have a PHP forum setup much like this one but we keep getting this error on monay e-mails it tries to send out.
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.
A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:
anything@hotmail.com
unrouteable mail domain "hotmail.com"
Does anyone know how to fix this?
Thanks
Brian
I've found the source of the problem. My IP was not blacklisted, however it was being denied by Aol, Hotmail, MSN, ets..
When I changed my mail preferences on the server via WHM, it resolved the issue.
Apparently the ISP's were denying my mail as I think they suspected my 'nobody' address as an open relay. When I changed my server default addresses to know / real account, mail began flowing properly.
(I have a linux server with cpanel)
trysb
2003-08-18, 13:46 PM
What link is that under??
Thanks
Brian
hoover
2003-08-18, 14:26 PM
Originally posted by trysb
What link is that under??
Thanks
Brian
in WHM, on the left nav, it's under the first section: 'Server Setup'
Click on the 'change system mail preferences' link.
Change the 'nobodys' and 'root' mail to a known value.
it worked for me.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.